Keeping safe online
Exit this page functionality
To help you quickly and safely exit sensitive content on our website we have developed and deployed an Exit this page button on relevant pages.
The component has several parts, including:
- a button, that when activated, will take you to the University homepage, disable the back button and remove the previous page from the browser history
- a secondary link, to give people that use assistive technologies another way to activate the component
- a loading overlay, to immediately clear any content off the browser until the homepage loads in case your internet speed is very slow
How to use it
Simply click on the button to activate it.
You can also press the Shift key 3 times within 5 seconds. There is a helpful visual indicator on the button to show how many times the Shift key has been pressed. If it is not pressed 3 times in 5 seconds the button and timer resets itself automatically.
The keyboard accessible secondary link is located just after the main skip to content link on the page.
Other ways to stay safe online
It can be easy for someone to see what you’re doing online, especially if you’re using a home computer.
You can make it more difficult for them by taking some precautions.
If you think your devices or internet search activities are being monitored, try to use a device that is not being monitored. That should be a device that the person does not or has not had physical or remote access to. This is the safest thing to do if you do not want someone to know that you’re visiting certain websites.
Cover your tracks online
Every time you use the internet, your browser stores a record of where you’ve been online with:
- a list of the pages you’ve looked at and the files you’ve downloaded
- small files called cookies which remember your settings for different sites
Deleting your internet browsing history
You can improve your safety by deleting your internet browsing history. But you need to be careful because:
- deleting cookies will also get rid of stored passwords for online accounts
- clearing your history could make someone more suspicious
Try to only remove information about the websites you want to keep private. You can find out how to do that on:
Browsing in private
You can also look at a website without information like cookies and your browsing history being stored by using the private browsing setting in your browser. Go to the menu, click on ‘File’ and choose:
- Incognito on Google Chrome
- Private Window on Safari
- InPrivate on Internet Explorer
- Private Browsing on Mozilla Firefox or Opera