Research Progression and Awards Boards

Research Progression and Awards Boards (RPABs) for Research Degrees consider all matters relating to the progression and awards of MPhil, PhD by thesis, PhD by previous published works, Professional Doctorate (Stage 2) and PhD (1+3 route).

One of their key functions is to oversee and approve all applications for registration, confirmation, suspension and/or extension and withdrawal, and undertake annual progress monitoring for all students on research programmes as noted above.  
RPABs have the responsibility of ensuring that the Regulations for the Award of Research Degrees at Glasgow Caledonian University are applied fairly and transparently. The boards are responsible to the University Senate.  


Each academic school has its own Board, comprised of the following voting members: Senior Postgraduate Research Tutor (Chair), Associate Dean of Research, School Postgraduate Research Tutors, three experienced PGR supervisors, two representatives from other Schools (SPGRT or PGRT) along with non-voting advisors, Graduate School Representative, Chair Research Degrees Committee, and
Professional Doctorate Director.  


The Boards are clerked by the School Programme Coordinator (Research Degrees)/Research Administrator and attended by a representative from Registry. The proceedings of Progression and Awards Boards for Research Degrees are strictly confidential.  

Research Progression and Awards Boards 2020/21

School of Health and Life Sciences (SHLS)

Last Date for Receipt of RDC Forms* (by 12 noon)

Date of Meeting

Wednesday, 11 November 2020

Thursday, 26 November 2020

Wednesday, 13 January 2021

Wednesday, 27 January 2021

Wednesday, 31 March 2021

Thursday, 15 April 2021

Wednesday, 9 June 2021

Wednesday, 23 June 2021

School of Computing, Engineering and Built Environment (SCEBE)

Last Date for Receipt of RDC Forms* (by 12 noon)

Date of Meeting

Wednesday, 6 January 2021

Wednesday, 20 January 2021

Wednesday, 3 March 2021

Wednesday, 24 March 2021

Wednesday, 21 April 2021

Wednesday, 12 May 2021

Wednesday, 9 June 2021

Wednesday, 30 June 2021

Glasgow School for Business and Society (GSBS)

Last Date for Receipt of RDC Forms* (by 12 noon)

Date of meeting

 

Wednesday, 18 November 2020

 Wednesday, 9 December 2020

Wednesday, 3 March 2021

 Tuesday, 23 March 2021

Wednesday, 26 May 2021

 Wednesday, 16 June 2021

Wednesday, 25 August 2021

 Wednesday, 15 September 2021

GCU London (GCUL)

Last Date for Receipt of RDC Forms* (by 12 noon)

Date of Meeting

Thursday, 5 November 2020

Thursday, 19 November 2020

Wednesday, 6 January 2021

Tuesday, 12 January 2021

Thursday, 11 March 2021

Thursday, 25 March 2021

Thursday, 10 June 2021

Thursday, 24 June 2021

Thursday, 22 July 2021

Thursday, 5 August 2021

*Receipt of forms by deadline does not guarantee consideration and/or approval at the relevant board as forms require review by Postgraduate Research Tutor (PGRT)/Associate Dean of Research (ADR) prior to board. 

Please allow time for the processing of decisions following the RPAB meeting.  For further information, please contact your School Programme Coordinator (Research Degrees)/Research Administrator.