Senate Membership

Senate Membership 20/21

Ex Officiis Members

Prof. Pamela Gillies, (Chair), Principal and Vice Chancellor
Prof. James Miller, (Vice Chair), Deputy Vice Chancellor (Strategy) 
Prof. Valerie Webster, Deputy Vice Chancellor (Learning, Teaching and Student Experience)
Prof. Cam Donaldson, Vice Principal and PVC Research and Enterprise 
Ms Jan Hulme, Vice-Principal, Governance
Prof. Bonita Steves, Director, Caledonian Graduate School
Prof. Alistair Robertson, Director of Academic Development and Student Learning 

Deans of School

Prof. Mike Mannion, School of Computing, Engineering and the Built Environment
Prof. Andrea Nelson, School of Health and Life Sciences    
Prof. John Lennon, Glasgow School for Business and Society

Heads of Department (* 3 from each school)

School of Computing, Engineering & Built Environment

Prof. Sheila Smith, Dept. of Applied Science
Dr Michael Tong, Dept. of Construction & Surveying
Prof. Bruce Wood, Dept. of Applied Computer Gaming

Glasgow School for Business & Society

Prof. Alison Britton, Dept. of Economics & Law 
Dr Susan Ogden, Dept. of Business Management
Dr Ben McConville, Dept. of Social Sciences, Media & Journalism         

School of Health & Life Sciences

Dr Gunter Loffler, Dept. of Vision Sciences
Dr Kerri McPherson Dept. of Psychology  
Dr Sharon Dolan, Dept. of Biological and Biomedical Sciences  

* HoD List as at 19/20.  Election Required for 20/21 Membership. 

Elected Members

Glasgow School for Business & Society (5)

Dr Catriona Miller, until 31 July 2022
Mrs Wendy Mazzucci, unit 31 July 2023
Dr Angela O'Hagan, until 31 July 2024
Dr Karen Fryer, until 31 July 2024
Mr Naveed Kayani, until 31 July 2024

School of Health and Life Sciences (7)

Prof. Jacqueline McCallum, until 31 July 2021
Mr Tom McAlear, until 31 July 2022
Dr Karen Thomson, until 31 July 2022
Dr Catriona Khamishauntil 31 July 2023
Dr Adrian Pierotti, until 31 July 2024
Dr Lyle Gray, until 31 July 2024
Dr Valerie Ness, until 31 July 2024

School of Engineering and Built Environment (6)

Dr Morag Fergusonuntil 31 July 2022
Dr Tuleen Boutalebuntil 31 July 2024
Prof. Mohamed Emad Farraguntil 31 July 2024
Mr Steven Latta, until 31 July 2024
Prof. Ole Pahluntil 31 July 2024
Dr Omair Uthmani, until 31 July 2024

GCU London (1)

Dr Bipasha Ahmed, until 31 July 2024

One member elected by academic staff not in Schools (1)

Mr Brian Smith (U2B)until 31 July 2021

Elected Student Members (6)*

Six students elected by the Students’ Association, to include the President of the Students’ Association, and elected students who the Association considers represent the interests of all students.

Miss Susan Docherty, President of the Students’ Association                                                                   

* The remaining 5 vacancies will be filled by the Students’ Association in due course

Non Voting Advisors

Ms Jackie Main, Director of Student Life
Ms Fiona Campbell, Director of People
Mrs Claire Hulsen, Director of Strategy and Planning
Mr Robert Ruthven , Director of Library Services
Mr Mark Anderson, Director of Research and Innovation
*, University Secretary
Mrs Susan Mitchell, Cheif Operating Officer
Mr Stephen Lopez, Academic Registrar
*, Chair of Senate Disciplinary Committee

*    Where the role holder is a full member of Senate in another capacity their name has been removed from the advisory role.

Members of Senate elected form the Schools Constituency and the constituency of Academic Staff not on Schools shall serve for a period of 4 years.