Staff achievement

As the University for the Common Good, we're proud of our leading role in teaching excellence and focused research, and that this has been recognised through the achievements of our academic and professional staff.

Professor Lorna Paul’s state-of-the-art online platform for the delivery of quality, personalised healthcare programmes backed by expert advice and support, Giraffe, won the Social Enterprise category at the Converge Challenge Awards.

Dr Michael Roy, of the Yunus Centre for Social Business and Health, was awarded the prestigious international Helen Potter Award in recognition of his excellence in social enterprise research.

The work of Senior Research Fellow Dr Andrew McAuley into drug and alcohol addictions saw him named the first Scottish recipient of the Society for the Study of Addiction’s Fred Yates Prize for Researcher of the Year. Society President Professor Eilish Gilvarry presented the award “for a significant contribution to the work of the addictions field” to Dr McAuley, who is also Senior Epidemiologist in the Sexual Health and Blood-Borne Virus Team at Health Protection Scotland.

Professor Dawn Skelton received the British Geriatric Society Marjory Warren Lifetime Achievement Medal, which is awarded to members who have made an exceptional contribution to the welfare of older people over the course of careers.

Professor Jim Woodburn was elected a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh.

Professor Alison Britton’s year-long investigation of the Scottish Government’s review of transvaginal mesh implants found it suffered "systemic" failings and potential conflicts of interest. Professor Britton had been commissioned by Cabinet Secretary for Health and Sport Shona Robison to consider how the independent review process assessing evidence relating to the surgical procedure of transvaginal mesh implants was undertaken and look to lessons learned for the future.

Professor Billy Hare, Deputy Director of the BEAM Research Centre, was awarded the prestigious Parkman Award by the Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE) for the best paper published in the peer-reviewed publication Management Procurement and Law.

Professor of Criminology and Sociology Lesley McMillan’s blog tackling the emergence of rape prevention technology won a Write to End Violence Against Women Award.

Emeritus Professor Kofi Aidoo was awarded The Council of The Royal Environmental Health Institute of Scotland’s most prestigious accolade. The institute presented Professor Aidoo its Award for Meritorious Endeavours in Environmental Health in recognition of his significant contribution to the health and wellbeing of Scotland.

One of Scotland's leading voices on gender-budgeting was appointed as the new chair of a Scottish Government advisory group. Dr Angela O'Hagan, deputy director of GCU’s WiSE research centre, heads the Equality Budget Advisory Group (EBAG), which ensures gender equality and human rights implications are considered when decisions are made on government budgets.

Equalities Minister Christina McKelvie, announcing the appointment, said: "Dr O'Hagan brings extensive experience and expertise regarding social policy and its implications for equality. I am proud of the work done so far to take forward Equality Budgeting in Scotland. Given the new budgeting powers being exercised by the Scottish Government, the importance of this work will only increase.

GCU Principal and Vice-Chancellor Professor Pamela Gillies CBE FRSE was appointed as a founding trustee of Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights UK (RFKHRUK), a human rights advocacy organisation established to keep Robert F. Kennedy’s legacy alive. Led by activist and lawyer Dr Kerry Kennedy, the organisation works with local activists to ensure that governments and corporations across the globe protect fundamental human rights.