Honorary Graduates

Our honorary graduates embody the qualities that Glasgow Caledonian University hopes to develop in its graduates and students and represent the kind of creative, civic-minded global citizens we encourage our students to be.

Recent honorary graduates include:

Lena Wilson: The first female Chief Executive of Scottish Enterprise, Lena previously held the posts of Chief Operating Officer of SE and CEO of Scottish Development International (SDI).

Don McCarthy: The current Executive Chairman of House of Fraser, Don advanced from the sales floor to become the majority shareholder, CEO and Chairman of Rubicon Retail Ltd, the holding company for Shoe Studio, Warehouse and Principles.

Ron Ferguson: An award-winning writer and former Church of Scotland minister, Ron has been a weekly columnist and book reviewer with The Herald for the past 14 years.

Professor David Gartry: The first surgeon in the UK to perform photorefractive keratectomy, Professor Gartry is currently consultant surgeon to the Corneal and Cataract Services and Refractive Service Director at Moorfields Eye Hospital in London.

Louise Martin CBE: A former international swimmer and the chair of sportscotland, Louise was instrumental in Glasgow’s successful bid to bring the Commonwealth Games to the city in 2014. Louise, who is also vice chair of the 2014 games organising committee, is an honorary Doctor of the University.

Mel Young: One of the world’s leading social entrepreneurs and co-founder of The Big Issue in Scotland and the Homeless World Cup, Mel is an honorary Doctor of the University.

Tommy Smith: One of Scotland's leading jazz musicians and composers and the driving force behind the Scottish National Jazz Orchestra and his own Youth Jazz Orchestra, Tommy is an honorary Doctor of Letters.

Professor James McEwen: Professor McEwan has helped shape public health and the training of health care practitioners across the world and is chair of the Scottish Health Protection Advisory Group. He is an honorary Doctor of Science.

Liz Lochhead: Liz received an honorary Doctor of Letters for her distinctive and distinguished contribution to Scottish culture as poet, playwright and performer.

Naeema Al-Gasseer: Naeema was recognised for the commitment, support, leadership and direction she has provided to nursing in her role as Chief Scientist for Nursing in the World Health Organisation (WHO).

Willie Haughey: Willie received an honorary Doctor of Technology for his outstanding entrepreneurship and philanthropic support of many good causes in Glasgow.

Mohammed Shaheen: Mohammed was honoured for his leadership of the Muslim community in Scotland and his contribution to good community relations as well as his contribution to charitable works in particular international relief aid.