Chancellor awarded major medal from George Washington University

28 October 2016

Chancellor awarded major medal from George Washington University

Professor Yunus and George Washington University President Steven Knapp

Professor Muhammad Yunus, Chancellor of Glasgow Caledonian University, has been honoured for his work to eradicate poverty.

The Nobel Peace Prize Laureate was awarded the President’s Medal from George Washington University in Washington DC, USA.

George Washington President Steven Knapp presented the award – the highest honour the President can bestow - in recognition of Professor Yunus’ pioneering work in creating economic development through microcredit.

Professor Yunus founded the Grameen Bank in Bangladesh, creating a model for combating poverty through microlending.

“I am very honoured to receive this special recognition through the President's Medal from George Washington University,” said Professor Yunus, addressing the ceremony. “This inspires me to do more of what I do. I am trying to make young people around the world believe that all impossibles can be made possible.

“We can create a world of three zeroes – zero poverty, zero unemployment, zero net carbon emission. Your recognition of my work will draw more attention and generate more active interest of young people in my message. Thank you for this honour.”

President Knapp said: “I am humbled and delighted to honour Mohammad Yunus with the President’s Medal for his pioneering work to combat poverty. His innovative microlending model has been replicated in more than 100 countries, and his work is an inspiration to all the students who come to George Washington with a passion for changing the world.”

The George Washington University President’s Medal recognises individuals who have exhibited courage, character and leadership in their chosen fields and who exemplify the ability of all human beings to improve the lives of others.

Previous recipients include singer Tony Bennett and his wife Susan Benedetto, Nobel laureate and former Soviet Union President Mikhail Gorbachev, former Israeli Prime Minister and Nobel laureate Shimon Perez and journalist Walter Cronkite.