Professor Brady awarded Robin Tavistock Award for aphasia research

11 July 2016

Professor Brady awarded Robin Tavistock Award for aphasia research

Glasgow Caledonian University (GCU) researcher Professor Marian Brady is the 2016 recipient of The Robin Tavistock Award, presented annually by The Tavistock Trust for Aphasia for significant contributions to the field of aphasia.  

Professor Brady specialises in the development, conduct and delivery of high-quality evidence relating to the effectiveness of stroke rehabilitation interventions. This Award is being made specifically to recognise all that Marian has achieved, and is still achieving, in the field of aphasia.

Aphasia is a condition, resulting from stroke and common progressive neurological conditions, which affects the brain and leads to problems using or understanding written or spoken language correctly. It affects around 250,000 people in the UK alone.

The Tavistock Trust for Aphasia praised Professor Brady’s work for “ensuring greater collaboration, promoting the adoption of robust methodologies and, most importantly, high quality evidence based research syntheses that will be recognised by all”.

As Chair of the EU-funded Collaboration of Aphasia Trialists, she established and supports a network of leading European multidisciplinary aphasia investigators.  This has ensured that links between those working in rehabilitation, neurology, social science, linguistics and speech and language research have been forged, providing an opportunity for sharing ideas, information and establishing protocols for research. 

Professor Brady directs a programme of work on stroke rehabilitation in the Nursing, Midwifery and Allied Health Professions Research Unit (NMAHP RU), a multidisciplinary national research unit funded by the Scottish Government’s Chief Scientist Office with academic bases within GCU and the University of Stirling.

The Tavistock Trust for Aphasia is the only grant-making trust in the United Kingdom that focuses solely on aphasia. The Robin Tavistock Award was named after the 14th Duke of Bedford who founded The Tavistock Trust for Aphasia after he had a brain haemorrhage in 1988 which left him with the condition.


Latest from Twitter