Media Experts

Glasgow Caledonian University is home to specialists in many different fields who are happy to talk to the media about their area of expertise.

Contact the Communications and Public Affairs team and we can help facilitate your request.

Alcohol research

‌Professor Carol Emslie

0141 273 1215 
Carol.Emslie@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Ageing and health

Professor Dawn Skelton

dawn.skelton@gcu.ac.uk
0141 331 8792

Audio Engineering

‌Patrick Quinn

0141 331 8650
P.Quinn@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Blood cancer

Dr Mark Williams

0141 331 8980
Mark.Williams@gcu.ac.uk

Building industry

Professor James Somerville

J.Sommerville@gcu.ac.uk
0141 331 3628

Climate justice

‌Professor Tahseen Jafry

0141 331 8084
T.Jafry@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Coastal erosion

‌Dr Slobodan Mickovski

0141 273 1105
Slobodan.Mickovski@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Computer games

‌‌Dr Romana Ramazan 

0141 331 8674
Romana.Ramzan@gcu.ac.uk


David Farrell

0141 331 8930
David.Farell@gcu.ac.uk

Concrete technology

‌Professor Agnieszka Klemm

0141 331 3892
A.Klemm@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Construction and Surveying

‌Professor Tony Kilpatrick

0141 331 3889 
A.R.Kilpatrick@gcu.ac.uk

Criminology and Sociology

‌Professor Lesley McMillan

0141 331 8284 
lesley.mcmillan@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Cyber security

‌Dr Omair Uthmani

0141 331 3768
Omair.Uthmani@gcu.ac.uk

 

‌Dr Jackie Riley 

0141 331 3606
J.Riley@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Dementia

Dr Fiona Kerr

0141 331 3446
fke2@gcu.ac.uk

 

Diabetes

Dr Jane Nally

0141 331 8523
J.E.Nally@gcu.ac.uk

Dietetics and Nutrition

D‌r Julie Armstrong

0141 331 8517
j.armstrong@gcu.ac.uk

- Baby, child and maternal nutrition

Emma Kinrade

0141 331 8509
emma.kinrade@gcu.ac.uk

Drug research

Dr Andrew McAuley

andrew.mcauley@nhs.net

Energy-efficient building materials

Dr Paul Baker

0141 331 8185
paul.baker@gcu.ac.uk

Fashion

Cara Connell

cara.connell@gcu.ac.uk
0141 273 1660

 

Erica Charles

Fashion Business and Marketing
erica.charles@gcu.ac.uk
0141 331 3231

Finance and Risk

‌Dr Patrick Ring

0141 331 3151
p.ring@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Fire Safety and Risk

‌Professor Tony Kilpatrick

0141 331 3889 
A.R.Kilpatrick@gcu.ac.uk

 

Dr Iain Sanderson

0141 331 3545
I.Sanderson@gcu.ac.uk

Flood prevention

‌Dr Slobodan Mickovski

0141 273 1105
Slobodan.Mickovski@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Food Science & Microbiology

Dr John Butcher

john.butcher@gcu.ac.uk
0141 331 8250

Fuel Poverty and Energy Policy

‌Dr Keith Baker

0141 331 8905
Keith.Baker@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Gender equality

‌Dr Angela O'Hagan

0141 331 8579
angela.ohagan@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Health and safety (construction)

‌Professor Billy Hare

0141 331 3908
B.Hare@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Health & Fitness

Professor Lorna Paul

lorna.paul@gcu.ac.uk
0141 331 8108

Dr Sebastien Chastin
sch4@gcu.ac.uk
0141 331 3744

Health History

Dr Janet Greenless

janet.greenless@gcu.ac.uk
0141 331 8209

Health research

‌Professor Jim Woodburn

0141 331 8483
jim.woodburn@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Hepatitis

‌Professor Sharon Hutchinson

0141 273 1949
shu13@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

History

‌Dr Ben Shepherd

0141 331 8156  
b.shepherd@gcu.ac.uk

Dr Fiona Skillen

0141 331 8018
fiona.skillen@gcu.ac.uk

- Specialises in sport history

 

Immunisation and Infectious diseases

Dr Kevin Pollock

kevin.pollock@gcu.ac.uk
0141 273 1429 

Incontinence

‌Professor Jo Booth

0141 331 8635
jo.booth@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

 

Infection prevention

Dr Lesley Price

L.Price@gcu.ac.uk
0141 331 3431

Law

‌Dr Andrew Tickell

0141 331 3155
andrew.tickell@gcu.ac.uk

 

Alison Britton (Medical law)

0141 331 3124
alison.britton@gcu.ac.uk

 

Dr Nick McKerrell

0141 331 8596
n.mckerrell@gcu.ac.uk

Mechanical Engineering

Dr Patricia Munoz de Escalona

0141 273 1039
Patricia.Munoz@gcu.ac.uk

 

Media, journalism and public relations

‌Professor John Cook

0141 331 3845
j.cook2@gcu.ac.uk

 

Ben McConville

0141 273 1970
ben.mcconville@gcu.ac.uk


Julian Calvert

0141 331 3855
julian.calvert@gcu.ac.uk

Migration

Dr Ima Jackson

0141 331 8360
i.jackson@gcal.ac.uk

 

 

Musculoskeletal Health

Dr Gordon Hendry

0141 331 3635
Gordon.Hendry@gcu.ac.uk

 

Music psychology

‌Professor Gianna Cassidy

0141 331 3866 or 07814350099
Gianna.Cassidy@gcu.ac.uk


‌Don Knox

0141 331 8436
D.Knox@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Nursing

Helena Kelly

helena.kelly@gcu.ac.uk
0141 331 8846

Karen Robertson-Skene

karen.robertson-skene@gcu.ac.uk
0141 331 3229

Occupational therapy

Dr Katrina Bannigan

0141 331 3608
Katrina.Bannigan@gcu.ac.uk

Pensions

‌Dr Patrick Ring

0141 331 3151
p.ring@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Physiotherapy

Professor Lorna Paul

 

0141 331 8108
lorna.paul@gcu.ac.uk

Podiatry

‌Mandy Abbott

0141 331 8567
mandy.abott@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Politics (European)

‌Professor Simone Baglioni

0141 331 3421
simone.baglioni@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Poverty & Inequality

‌Professor John McKendrick

0141 331 8221
j.mckendrick@gcu.ac.uk

 

Professor Stephen Sinclair 

0141 331 3666
stephen.sinclair@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Psychology

Dr Adele Dickson

Health psychology
Adele.Dickson@gcu.ac.uk
0141 273 1958

 

Dr Chris Hand

Cyber psychology
Christopher.Hand@gcu.ac.uk
0141 273 1548

 

Dr Jamie Frankis

Sexual health
j.frankis@gcu.ac.uk
0141 331 3228

 

Dr Kareena McAloney-Kocaman

Social psychology
kareena.mcaloney@gcu.ac.uk
0141 331 8451

 

Dr Rosaleen O'Brien

Pregnancy, parenting, maternal mental health
Rosaleen.obrien@gcu.ac.uk
0141 273 1203

 

Dr Elaine Duncan

Positive Psychology, Happiness & Wellbeing
edu@gcu.ac.uk
0141 331 3881

 

Dr Jo McParland

Health and musculoskeletal pain psychology
j.mcparland@gcu.ac.uk
0141 331 3854

 

Dr Adam Mahoney

Forensic Psychology
Adam.Mahoney@gcu.ac.uk
0141 273 1804

 

Dr Karen Thomson

Culture and learning
k.thomson@gcu.ac.uk
0141 331 3495

Public Policy

‌Dr Angela O’Hagan

0141 331 8579
angela.ohagan@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Rehabilitation Nursing

‌Professor Jo Booth

0141 331 8635
jo.booth@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Reliability of energy assets

‌Professor Don McGlinchey 

0141 331 3713
D.McGlinchey@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Renewable Energy

Dr Keith Baker

keith.baker@gcu.ac.uk
0141 331 8905

Sexual health

‌Professor Claudia Estcourt

0141 331 3099
ces1@gcu.ac.uk

 

Social Work

Dr Sharon Jackson

0141 331 3953
Sharon.Jackson@gcu.ac.uk

Sociology & Physical Activity

Professor Emmanuelle Tulle

e.tulle@gcu.ac.uk
0141 331 8652

Stroke

Professor Marian BradyCommunication

0141 331 8102
m.brady@gcu.ac.uk

 

Professor Frederike van WijckPhysical Activity

0141 331 8967
Frederike.vanWijck@gcu.ac.uk

 

Dr Christine Hazelton - Vision and Neurological Disorders

0141 331 8181
Christine.Hazelton@gcu.ac.uk

 

Dr Lesley Scobbie - Occupational Therapy and Neurological Disorders

0141 331 8582
lesley.scobbie@gcu.ac.uk

Sustainable environment

Professor Rohinton Emmanuel

0141 331 3217
Rohinton.Emmanuel@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Tourism

‌Professor John Lennon

0141 331 8405 or 07976569368
j.j.lennon@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Virology

Dr Claire Crossan

0141 331 8543
claire.crossan@gcu.ac.uk

Virtual reality and head-up display systems

Professor Vassilis Charissis

0141 331 3662
Vassilis.Charissis@gcu.ac.uk

Vision Sciences

Professor Anita Simmers 

0141 331 3996
anita.simmers@gcu.ac.uk

Professor Gunter Loffler

0141 331 3386
g.loffler@gcu.ac.uk

Waste management

‌Professor Jim Baird

0141 273 1351 
J.Baird@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Water pollution

‌Professor Ole Pahl 

0141 331 3572
O.Pahl@gcu.ac.uk