GCU Advancing Gender Equality Group

The GCU Advancing Gender Equality Group was established in 2013 (then known as the GCU Women in STEMM Group) to recognise, support and share good practice, and to develop our commitment to advancing women's careers in science, technology, engineering, maths and medicine (STEMM) at GCU. Chaired by Professor Valerie Webster, Deputy Vice Chancellor, the Group forms the self-assessment team that has led the development of the University’s Athena SWAN submission. The Group reports progress to the People Committee and the Executive Board.

The Advancing Gender Equality Group has the remit to:

  • Support the University in achieving and maintaining Athena SWAN accreditation
  • Review all relevant GCU policies and procedures in relation to equality
  • Facilitate activity required to inform future work e.g. focus groups/surveys, policy and or practice, reviews
  • Develop an Action Plan, facilitate actions and monitor progress
  • Review statistical data and identify any areas of success and any of concern
  • Act as Champions for gender equality
  • Support future institutional and School Athena SWAN applications
Name Role School/Department
Dr Ukachukwu Abaraogu Postdoctoral Researcher Physiotherapy and Paramedicine SHLS
Miss Julie Adair Director of Communications and Digital Engagement Communications and Digital Engagement
Mr Mark Anderson Director of Research and Innovation Research and Innovation Office
Ms Louise Barlow Business Partner Information Services
Dr Tuleen Boutaleb Associate Dean International SCEBE
Prof Iain Cameron Assistant Vice Principal. Professor of Construction and Surveying SCEBE
Ms Kathleen Cleary People Services Operations Manager People Services
Ms Maeve Curtin PhD Student, Yunus Centre for Social Business and Health Yunus Centre
Ms Susan Docherty Student President Students' Association
Ms Diane Donaldson Associate Academic Registrar (SHLS) & SPS Lead Research Administration SHLS/SPS
Prof Bob Gilmour Professor of Learning and Teaching SCEBE
Prof John Lennon Dean of School GSBS
Dr Nancy Lombard Reader in Sociology and Social Policy GSBS
Mr Adrian Lui Equality and Diversity Advisor People Services
Ms Jackie Main Director of Student Life Student Life
Prof Mike Mannion Dean of School SCEBE
Prof Andrea Nelson Dean of School  SHLS
Ms Zoe Nicholson Vice President, SCEBE Students' Association
Prof Caroline Parker Assistant Vice Principal Values People Services
Dr Katy Proctor Lecturer in Criminology and Policing GSBS
Prof Alastair Robertson Director of Academic Development and Student Learning Academic Development
Prof Bonnie Steves Director Graduate School Graduate School
Prof Anita Simmers Vice Dean SHLS
Prof Simon Teasdale Assistant Vice Principal Social Innovation Yunus Centre
Prof Oonagh Walsh Chair in Gender Studies GSBS
Prof Valerie Webster Deputy Vice Chancellor Learning, Teaching and Student Experience, Chair of AGEG Executive Board

Want to know more about women in STEM at GCU? Read highlights of the achievements and opportunities that help enable and inspire women in STEM at the university.