Professor conferred as a Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences

14 October 2014

Professor conferred as a Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences

Professor Peter Kirby

A Glasgow Caledonian University Professor has been made a Fellow of The Academy of Social Sciences alongside 33 leading social scientists.

Professor Peter Kirby, Professor of Social History at GCU’s Centre for the Social History of Health and Healthcare, has been recognised by the Academy as a leading figure in the social and economic history of child workers with an associated interest in health.

Professor Kirby will join a distinguished group of scholars and practitioners from academia and the public and private sector. The recipients have a wide range of expertise in the social sciences, including town planning, education, geography, social work, law, sociology, economics and psychology.

Professor Kirby said: “It is an honour to be made a Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences and I am delighted to become part of a group of such eminent scholars.”

Among this year’s Fellows are leading social scientists including: Rt Hon David Willetts MP; Lord Richard Best, an expert in housing studies and policy; Professor Paul J Boyle, an internationally renowned expert in population and health geography; Corinne Swain OBE, an intellectual leader in policy and practice in spatial planning in the UK; Professor Michael E J Wadsworth, Emeritus Professor in Epidemiology and Public Health, University College London; and Sarah Monk, Deputy Director, Cambridge Centre for Housing and Planning Research, University of Cambridge.

The Fellows each make a substantial contribution to wider social science in a variety of contexts, including higher education, government, funding councils, charitable foundations and think tanks.

The Academy of Social Sciences is the National Academy of Academics, Learned Societies and Practitioners in the Social Sciences. Fellows are awarded Fellowship status after peer group review of the standing and impact of their work and evaluation of their contribution to wider social science. Its members include around 1000 Fellows from universities and the policy and practice communities, and 47 member learned societies, representing more than 90,000 social scientists.