Media Experts

Glasgow Caledonian University is home to specialists in many different fields who are happy to talk to the media about their area of expertise.

Contact the Communications and Public Affairs team and we can help facilitate your request.

Alcohol research

‌Carol Emslie

0141 273 1215 
Carol.Emslie@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Audio Engineering

Patrick QuinnPatrick Quinn

0141 331 8650
P.Quinn@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Civil liberties

Dr Nick McKerrell

0141 331 8596 or 07905 318 640
n.mckerrell@gcu.ac.uk

Climate justice

Tahseen JafryProfessor Tahseen Jafry

0141 331 8084
T.Jafry@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Coastal erosion

Dr Slobodan Mickovski Dr Slobodan Mickovski

0141 273 1105
Slobodan.Mickovski@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Computer games

Dr Romana Ramzan Dr Romana Ramazan 

0141 331 8674
Romana.Ramzan@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Concrete technology

Professor Agnieszka KlemmProfessor Agnieszka Klemm

0141 331 3892
A.Klemm@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Cyber security

Dr Omair Uthmani Dr Omair Uthmani

0141 331 3768 or 07930407854
Omair.Uthmani@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

 

 

Jackie ReillyDr Jackie Riley 

0141 331 3606
J.Riley@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Dietetics

Julie ArmstrongJulie Armstrong

0141 331 8517
j.armstrong@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Drug research

Dr Andrew McAuley

07881 801 540
andrew.mcauley@nhs.net

Energy-efficient building materials

Paul Baker

0141 331 8185
paul.baker@gcu.ac.uk

Finance and Risk

Patrick RingDr Patrick Ring

0141 331 3151 07703 777 240
p.ring@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Flood prevention

Dr Slobodan Mickovski Dr Slobodan Mickovski

0141 273 1105
Slobodan.Mickovski@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Gender equality

Angela O'HaganDr Angela O'Hagan

0141 331 8579 or 07734 456 282
angela.ohagan@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Genetic modifications

Professor Kevan GartlandProfessor Kevan Gartland

0141 331 3120 or 07588 754 176
kevan.gartland@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Health and safety (construction)

Professor Billy HareProfessor Billy Hare

0141 331 3908
B.Hare@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Health research

Professor Jim WoodburnProfessor Jim Woodburn

0141 331 8483
jim.woodburn@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Hepatitis

Sharon HutchinsonSharon Hutchinson

0141 273 1949
shu13@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

History

Dr Ben ShepherdDr Ben Shepherd

0141 331 8156  
b.shepherd@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Law

Dr Andrew TickellDr Andrew Tickell

0141 331 3155  or 07766 222 109
andrew.tickell@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

 

 

Alison BrittonAlison Britton (Medical law)

0141 331 3124
alison.britton@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

 

 

Dr Nick McKerrell

0141 331 8596 or 07905 318 640
n.mckerrell@gcu.ac.uk

Media and journalism

Professor John Cook‌Professor John Cook

0141 331 3845 or 07515 883 479
j.cook2@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

 

 

Ben McConville

0141 273 1970
ben.mcconville@gcu.ac.uk

Migration

Dr Ima JacksonDr Ima Jackson

0141 331 8360
i.jackson@gcal.ac.uk

 

 

Music psychology

Professor Gianna CassidyProfessor Gianna Cassidy

0141 331 3866 or 07814350099
Gianna.Cassidy@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

 


Don KnoxDon Knox

0141 331 8436
D.Knox@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Pensions

Patrick RingDr Patrick Ring

0141 331 3151 or 07703 777 240
p.ring@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Podiatry

Mandy AbbottMandy Abbott

0141 331 8567
mandy.abott@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Politics (European)

Professor Simone BaglioniProfessor Simone Baglioni

0141 331 3421
simone.baglioni@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Poverty

Professor John McKendrickProfessor John McKendrick

0141 331 8221 or 07793 113 785
j.mckendrick@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Public Policy

Angela O'HaganDr Angela O’Hagan

0141 331 8579 or 07734 456 282
angela.ohagan@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Reliability of energy assets

Professor Don McGlincheyProfessor Don McGlinchey 

0141 331 3713
D.McGlinchey@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Renewable energy

Dr Keith BakerDr Keith Baker

0141 331 8905 or 07884 125 540 
Keith.Baker@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Sexual health

Professor Claudia EstcourtProfessor Claudia Estcourt

0141 331 3099 or 07980 547 408
ces1@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

 

 

Professor Paul FlowersProfessor Paul Flowers

0141 331 8617
p.flowers@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Sustainable environment

Professor Rohinton EmmanuelProfessor Rohinton Emmanuel

0141 331 3217 or 0755 308 0643
Rohinton.Emmanuel@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Tourism

Professor John LennonProfessor John Lennon

0141 331 8405 or 07976569368
j.j.lennon@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Virtual reality and head-up display systems

Professor Vassilis Charissis

0141 331 3662 or 07414885247
Vassilis.Charissis@gcu.ac.uk

Waste management

Professor Jim BairdProfessor Jim Baird

0141 273 1351 
J.Baird@gcu.ac.uk

 

 

Water pollution

Professor Ole Pahl Professor Ole Pahl 

0141 331 3572 or 07825313765
O.Pahl@gcu.ac.uk